Local News

(Springfield, IL)  --  The state is expanding the Emerald Ash Borer quarantine, moving the line further south.  Department of Agriculture officials say they spotted a fourth infestation in Effingham County while traveling to Marion County to investigate the discovery there.  This is the eighth and largest addition to the original EAB quarantine enacted after the beetle was discovered in Illinois in 2006.   Counties that are now quarantined include Cumberland, Clark, Coles, Edgar, Douglas, DeWitt, Marion, Moultrie, Piatt, Macon, Shelby,Stark and Fayette.  Portions of Bureau and Marshall Counties not previously included in the quarantine also were added.  More details are available online at www.IllinoisEAB.com.

Local Weather