Local News

Another official has resigned in Sparland, leaving the central Illinois village board with no quorum.

The departure of trustee Kenneth Crew brings to six the number of officials who have resigned in the last few days.

Crew submitted his resignation Monday.

The other officials are: Mayor Linda Medearis, Village Clerk Susan Persinger, Treasurer Margo Danger-Smith, and trustees Louis Lenz and Ralph McCasky.

Trustee Mike Durham says the first five resignation letters were found over the weekend "in a neat pile" at Village Hall.

The resignations are effective different times this week and last week.

Local Weather