Local Sports

NASCAR Shifts to Las Vegas This Weekend

Daniel Suarez narrowly edged Ryan Blaney and Kyle Busch in the closest finish in Atlanta history for his second career victory in the top series.


The winning margin — 0.003 seconds — is the third-closest since 1993 when electronic scoring was implemented. Now NASCAR moves across the country to Las Vegas Motorspeedway for the third race of the season.


The victory came in career start No. 253 for Suarez, whose other win came in June 2022 at Sonoma. The race featured 10 cautions and an Atlanta-record 48 lead changes. Todd Gilliland led 58 laps; the third-year driver had led a combined 11 laps in his first two seasons. He finished 26th.


Daytona 500 winner William Byron won after starting second at last year's spring race in Vegas. 


Practice and qualifying is at 1 pm Saturday. Race time is 2:30 pm on Sunday.


Austin Hill won his second straight race to open the season, surging to the lead on an overtime restart when teammate Jesse Love ran out of gas at Atlanta.


Hill enters the XFinity Series race at Las Vegas as the defending winner from last spring's race. 


Hill became the first driver since Tony Stewart in 2008 to win the first two Xfinity races of the season. Hill has won three of the last four Xfinity Series races at Atlanta and is halfway to his wins total in 33 races last season. 


Love started on the pole, becoming the first driver to win the pole in his first two career starts, led 157 laps and finished 12th. Georgia native Chandler Smith finished second and New Zealander Shane Van Gisbergen was third.


Practice and qualifying is tonight at 5:30 pm with race time Saturday at 4 pm. 


Kyle Busch moved to the lead when Grant Enfinger had tire problems with six laps to go and won in the Craftsman Truck Series for the seventh time at Atlanta.


The victory was Busch’s 65th in the truck series, extending his own record, and 230th across NASCAR’s three national series. ... Busch drove for Spire Motorsports, who he sold his truck team to late last year, and will race four more times for the team this season. 


Ty Majeski was second, followed by Corey Heim, Taylor Gray, and Nick Sanchez, who won the season-opener at Daytona.


Busch won the pole in Vegas and rode to the win last spring. 


Practice and qualifying is at 3:30 pm this afternoon. Race time is 8 pm tonight. 

Townhall Top of the Hour News

Local Weather - Sponsored By:


Local News

DeWittDN on Facebook