Local News

The 2012 Wall of Honor inductees for Clinton High School have been announced.

Each year, Clinton Community High School recognizes up to four former Clinton High School graduates for their life achievements. Principal of Clinton High School Ron Connor explains each year a committee goes through nominations they have been sent and they pick out who would best  fit what they are looking for on the wall. He stresses the Wall of Honor is not a sports Hall of Fame.

[audio:wallofhonor1.mp3] [/audio]

Connor says his committee searches for people with high character and morals. He feels the community should take pride in the people that are put on the Wall of Honor.

[audio:wallofhonor2.mp3] [/audio]

Those selected are Mr. Tyrone Byrd, Judge Stephan H. Peters, Mr. Tom Steward, and Mrs. Myra Westray. Connor says each one stands out in their own unique way and each is very much deserving of their place on the Wall of Honor.

[audio:wallofhonor4.mp3] [/audio]

The night of the Wall of Honor ceremony the school puts on a special reception for the inductees and for the community to come and welcome and congratulate them. Connor says they then unveil their plaques at the main sports entrance and they are then recognized between the boys JV and Varsity basketball games.

[audio:wallofhonor3.mp3] [/audio]

The induction ceremony will be held Friday, February 17, 2012, starting at 6PM with a welcome reception in the west gym of Clinton High School and unveiling of the wall in the sports entrance.  The recognition ceremony will be between the junior varsity and varsity basketball games in the main gym. The Maroons play host to Central A & M.

Local Weather - Sponsored By: