Local News

Pittsburgh Penguins center Evgeni Malkin won the Hart Trophy as the NHL's Most Valuable Player Wednesday night.  Malkin had 50 goals and 59 assists this past season.  Malkin also won the Ted Lindsay Award as the NHL's most outstanding player, as well as the Art Ross Trophy for leading the league in points.

Meanwhile, Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers won the Vezina Trophy as the top goaltender.  Brian Campbell of the Florida Panthers took home the Lady Byng Trophy.  Gabriel Landeskog of the Colorado Avalanche won the Calder Memorial Trophy as the NHL's top rookie.  Erik Karlsson of the Ottawa Senators won the James Norris Trophy as the league's best defenseman.  Shane Doan of the Phoenix Coyotes won the Mark Messier Leadership Award.

Montreal Canadiens forward Max Pacioretty was voted the recipient of the Bill Masterton Trophy for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.  Ken Hitchcock of the St. Louis Blues won the Jack Adams Award as the top head coach.  Doug Armstrong of the Blues was named the General Manager of the Year.

Chicago Blackhawks general manager Stan Bowman is giving some updates on his team leading up to tomorrow's NHL Draft.  Bowman says both Marian Hossa [[ HO-suh ]] and Steve Montador are getting better.  The duo were unable to finish the season because of head injuries.  Also, forwards Dan Carcillo and Ben Smith are making progress in their recoveries as well.  Both their seasons ended prematurely because of leg injuries.  Carcillo blew out his knee in early January.  Carcillo signed a two-year contract extension in March, while Smith did the same earlier this week.

Local Weather - Sponsored By:
Townhall Top of the Hour News


SRN News
#FarmOn Benefit Concert