Local News

layoffs are coming to college football.  The Bowl Championship Series presidential oversight committee has approved a four-team playoff to determine college football's national champion.  The seeded format was presented on Tuesday by conference commissioners in Washington, DC.  Semifinal opponents at existing bowls will be chosen by a selection committee, with the national championship game to be awarded to the highest bidder.  The current BCS contract runs through the 2013 season, with the playoff system to go into effect after the 2014 regular season.

Local Weather