Local News

Annual ESPY Awards Held In Los Angeles

The 20th annual ESPY Awards show took place in Los Angeles Wednesday night.  The Arthur Ashe Courage Award was presented to legendary former Tennessee women's basketball coach Pat Summitt.  Summitt is battling early onset dementia, Alzheimer's type, and retired after this past season.  The Jimmy V Award for Perseverance was presented to former Rutgers football player Eric LeGrand, who was paralyzed during a game in October 2010.

New York Knicks guard Jeremy Lin was named Breakthrough Athlete of the Year.  Tim Tebow was presented with the award for Best Moment for his 80-yard touchdown pass to Demaryius Thomas that gave the Denver Broncos an overtime playoff win over the Pittsburgh Steelers.  The Best Comeback Athlete Award was given to Detroit Lions quarterback Matthew Stafford.  LeBron James took home three ESPYs, including Male Athlete of the Year.  The NBA champion Miami Heat were also named the Team of the Year.

Townhall Top of the Hour News

Local Weather - Sponsored By:


Local News

DeWittDN on Facebook