Local News

The Tuesday election not only had major ramifications for the State of Illinois, but also locally for DeWitt County.

Districts B and D were up for re-election this time around and District B is going to look vastly different when it comes to their representatives.

Former County Board Member Melonie Tilley was the top vote getter in District D Tuesday, receiving 797 votes, good for 27% of the vote. Also receiving enough support to get in were incumbent Democrat Rita Sue Whitted and Democratic Challenger Cris Rogers, separated by just a single vote.

Rogers says he and Rita Sue Whitted should have been neck-and-neck in the race because they campaigned together.

[audio:11514rogers1.mp3] [/audio]

Incumbents Doug Tucker and Pete Daugherty, both Republicans, will not return to the County Board, receiving less than 15% of the vote each.

Three new members will be on the County Board in District B. Republican Christina Pruser led the vote with 1,179 votes, good for 32.03% of the vote. Pruser will replace her late husband Tom Pruser on the County Board. Terry Ferguson will also return to the County Board, receiving 1,075 votes, or 29.2%. And Randy Perring, a Democrat won a seat on the County Board with 778 votes for 21% of the vote.

Keith Koons short tenure on the County Board will come to an end.

District B will also have full representation once the new board is sworn in.

DeWitt County Sheriff Jered Shofner was unopposed for his bid to return to the office of Sheriff.

Dana Smith ran unopposed for County Clerk.

Christy Long ran unopposed for County Treasurer.

90% of voters opposed chemical waste in the Clinton Landfill, in response to the proposition question on the ballot.

Just under half of registered voters in DeWitt County turned out for the Tuesday election.

Local Weather - Sponsored By:
Townhall Top of the Hour News


SRN News