Local News

 width=>>Yadi Molina Wins 7th Gold Glove

St. Louis Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina was awarded a seventh straight Gold Glove on Tuesday when MLB announced the top fielders at each position.

Molina has been a virtual lock to take home the NL's top catching honor for the better part of a decade. Only Ivan Rodriguez (13) and Johnny Bench (10) have won more Gold Gloves as a backstop.

Dodgers first baseman Adrian Gonzalez collected his fourth Gold Glove and first since 2011, while slick-fielding Braves shortstop Andrelton Simmons captured his second straight.

The Rockies had two honored in second baseman DJ LeMahieu and third baseman Nolan Arenado, who also won last season.

The Senior Circuit's top outfielders consisted of Marlins left fielder Christian Yelich, Mets center fielder Juan Lagares and Braves right fielder Jason Heyward. Yelich and Lagares were first-time winners, while Heyward walked away with one in 2012.

Dodgers pitcher Zack Greinke rounded out the NL squad as he edged teammate Clayton Kershaw and reigning champ Adam Wainwright of the Cardinals.

The Royals and Orioles each had three representatives on the AL side for the second straight year. Catcher Salvador Perez, first baseman Eric Hosmer and left fielder Alex Gordon all won at their respective positions for the AL champs. Gordon seized the honor for a fourth straight season.

Orioles shortstop J.J. Hardy has taken one home three years running, while his teammates, Adam Jones and Nick Markakis, won in center and right field, respectively. Jones landed his fourth Gold Glove while Markakis picked up hissecond.

Red Sox second baseman Dustin Pedroia was selected for the fourth time in seven years, while Mariners third baseman Kyle Seager and Astros pitcher Dallas Keuchel were the only first-time winners on the AL side.

>>MLB Postseason Award Finalists Revealed

(New York, NY) -- The finalists are out for Major League Baseball's postseason awards. In the National League, Dodgers pitcher Clayton Kershaw, Pirates outfielder Andrew McCutchen and Marlins outfielder Giancarlo Stanton are finalists for MVP. Kershaw, the Cardinals' Adam Wainwright and Reds' Johnny Cueto [[ KWAY-toh ]] are finalists for the Cy Young Award. Manager of the Year finalists are the Giants' Bruce Bochy [[ BO-chee ]], Pirates' Clint Hurdle and Nationals' Matt Williams. Mets pitcher Jacob deGrom, Reds outfielder Billy Hamilton and Cardinals second baseman Kolten Wong are finalists for Rookie of the Year.

In the American League, Angels outfielder Mike Trout, Tigers designated hitter Victor Martinez and Indians outfielder Michael Brantley are up for MVP honors. The Indians' Corey Kluber [[ KLOO-ber ]], Mariners' Felix Hernandez and Chris Sale of the White Sox are Cy Young finalists. Manager of the Year candidates are the Orioles' Buck Showalter, the Royals' Ned Yost and Mike Scioscia [[ SO-shuh ]] of the Angels. White Sox first baseman Jose Abreu [[ ah-BRAY-oo ]], Yankees reliever Dellin Betances [[ beh-TAN-sess ]] and Angels pitcher Matt Shoemaker are finalists for Rookie of the Year.

The winners will be announced next week, with the rookies revealed on Monday, managers on Tuesday, Cy Young on Wednesday and MVP on Thursday.

>>Former Cubs OF Soriano Retiring

Seven-time All-Star Alfonso Soriano says he is retiring from the major leagues after a season in which he was released by the New York Yankees on July.

"I've lost the love and passion to play the game," said Soriano in a radio interview Tuesday in his native Dominican Republic. "Right now, my family is the most important thing."

Soriano, 38, completed in 2014 the final year of his $136 million, eight-year contract he signed with the Chicago Cubs before the 2007 season.

He ends his career 50th in baseball history with 412 home runs.

"Although I consider myself in great shape, my mind is not focused on baseball," said Soriano.

Soriano was released by the Yankees after playing just 67 games. He was hitting .221 with six home runs and 23 RBIs.

 width=>>Free Agency Begins, Cards Have Five

(St. Louis, MO) -- Free agency is underway in Major League Baseball. Eligible players can now sign with any club. The Cardinals have five free agents in pitchers Justin Masterson, Jason Motte and Pat Neshek, catcher A.J. Pierzynski [[ peer-ZIN-skee ]] and second baseman Mark Ellis.

>>Pablo Sandoval Rejects Giants' Qualifying Offer

(San Francisco, CA) -- San Francisco Giants third baseman Pablo Sandoval is set to hit the free-agent market. FOX Sports reports Sandoval has rejected the Giants' one-year, 15.3-million-dollar qualifying offer. San Francisco will receive draft pick compensation if he signs elsewhere. "Kung Fu Panda" hit .279 with 16 home runs in 157 games this season. The 28-year-old enjoyed another solid postseason at the plate, and helped the Giants to their third World Series championship in five seasons.

>>Angels Sign Cuban Infielder

(Anaheim, CA) -- The Los Angeles Angels are making a big splash in the international market. MLB.com reports the team has signed Cuban middle infielder Roberto Baldoquin to a record-setting eight-million-dollar signing bonus. The deal is pending a physical. Baldoquin's bonus would be the highest given to an international amateur player during the current international signing period. With the signing, LA is way past its more than 2.3-million-dollar bonus pool money allotment. They will be subject to 100-percent luxury tax on any dollars spent over the bonus allotment for the remainder of the signing period. Because the 20-year-old is under 23 and has not played in a professional league for at least five seasons, Baldoquin is subject to international signing guidelines.

>>Indians Extend Terry Francona

(Cleveland, OH) -- The Cleveland Indians are locking up manager Terry Francona. The two sides have agreed on a two-year contract extension that runs through the 2018 season. Francona's new deal also contains club options for the 2019 and 2020 seasons. In his two seasons as skipper of the Tribe, "Tito" has guided the team to a 177-and-147 record, and a Wild Card berth during his first season at the helm in 2013.

Local Weather - Sponsored By:
Townhall Top of the Hour News


SRN News