Local News

Twelve counties have been added to Illinois’ emerald ash borer (EAB) quarantine, the state Department of Agriculture announced Friday.

The new additions to the boundaries include seven counties where the tree-killing beetle was identified for the first time this year and five that are considered to be at risk of infestation.

According to EAB program manager Scott Schirmer five counties, Christian, Franklin, Fulton, Jefferson and Mason, do not have a confirmed detection. He says each, is bordered by at least two counties that do and could benefit by implementing quarantine rules, which are intended to prevent the spread of the beetle through the movement of potentially-infested items like firewood.”

The seven, new EAB discoveries were made in Logan, Menard, Peoria, Perry, Sangamon, Tazewell and Williamson counties.

With their addition, as well as the addition of the five “at risk” counties, the quarantine now covers 61 of Illinois’ 102 counties.

Local Weather - Sponsored By:
Townhall Top of the Hour News


SRN News