Local News

College Football Notes

>>College Football Playoff Set

(Undated) -- The first-ever College Football Playoff is set. Alabama, Oregon, Florida State and Ohio State were announced as the final four teams on Sunday. Top-ranked Alabama will face fourth-ranked Ohio State in the Sugar Bowl on January 1st. The second-ranked Oregon Ducks will take on number-three Florida State in the Rose Bowl the same day. The winners will meet at AT&T Stadium on Monday, January 12th in the College Football National Championship Game.

 width=Ohio State earned the final spot after blasting Wisconsin 59-0 in the Big Ten Championship Game on Saturday. TCU, which was ranked third in the penultimate rankings, dropped to sixth despite a 55-3 win over Iowa State in its season finale. Baylor came in fifth in the final rankings.

>>Complete College Football Bowl Schedule Released

(Undated) -- The complete college football bowl schedule was released on Sunday. In all, 39 bowl games will be played, beginning with the New Orleans Bowl between Nevada and Louisiana-Lafayette on December 20th. A trio of marquee games will take place on New Year's Eve. TCU, which finished sixth in the final College Football Playoff rankings, will take on Ole Miss in the Peach Bowl, while Arizona will clash with Boise State in the Fiesta Bowl. Also on December 31st, Georgia Tech will meet Mississippi State in the Orange Bowl. On New Year's Day, Wisconsin will battle Auburn in the Outback Bowl, while Baylor will face Michigan State in the Cotton Bowl.

The first-ever College Football Playoff will also begin January 1st. The first semifinal will pit second-ranked Oregon against number-three Florida State in the Rose Bowl. Later in the day, top-ranked Alabama will square off with fourth-ranked Ohio State in the Sugar Bowl. Bowl season will wrap up with the National Championship Game on Monday, January 12th in Arlington, Texas.

Townhall Top of the Hour News

Local Weather - Sponsored By:


Local News

DeWittDN on Facebook