Local News

 width=>>Notre Dame Knocks Off LSU With Late FG

(Nashville, TN) -- Kyle Brindza split the uprights with a 32-yard field goal as time expired to give Notre Dame a 31-28 upset of 23rd-ranked LSU in the Music City Bowl. Malik Zaire got the start at quarterback and threw one touchdown pass and also ran for a score as the Fighting Irish snapped a four-game losing streak to finish the season 8-and-5. C.J. Prosise ran 50 yards for the game-tying touchdown late in the third quarter for Notre Dame. Leonard Fournette rushed for 143 yards and two touchdowns for the Tigers, and also returned a kickoff 100 yards for another score. The Tigers end their season 8-and-5.

>>Stanford Smashes Maryland In Foster Farms Bowl

(Santa Clara, CA) -- Kevin Hogan threw for 189 yards and two touchdowns as Stanford mauled Maryland 45-21 in the Foster Farms Bowl in Santa Clara. Remound Wright had three rushing scores for the Cardinal, who close out the season with a record of 8-and-5. Devon Cajuste had both receiving touchdowns in the victory. C.J. Brown passed for 205 yards and an interception for the Terrapins, who end the year 7-and-6. William Likely returned a kickoff 100 yards for a touchdown in the loss.

 width=>>#13 Georgia Drops #21 Louisville In Belk Bowl

(Charlotte, NC) -- Nick Chubb rumbled his way to 269 yards and a pair of touchdowns as number-13 Georgia grabbed a 37-14 victory over 21st-ranked Louisville in the Belk Bowl in Charlotte. Sony Michel chipped in 31 yards and a TD on the ground as the Bulldogs picked up their just their second bowl win in five years. Hutson Mason tossed for 148 yards and a score before leaving the game in the second quarter with an unknown injury. Georgia ends the year 10-and-3. Brandon Radcliff rushed for 91 yards and a touchdown as the Cardinals dropped to 9-and-4 to finish the season. Kyle Bolin threw for 301 yards, a score and two interceptions in the loss.

>>Alabama, Ohio State Square Off In Sugar Bowl

(New Orleans, LA) -- Top-ranked Alabama goes up against number-four Ohio State in the Sugar Bowl on New Year's Day at the Superdome. It's one of two national semifinals in the new College Football Playoff that will determine this season's national champion. The Crimson Tide earned a spot in the Final Four after blowing out Missouri 42-13 in the SEC Championship Game. Alabama is 12-and-1 on the season, having won eight straight games. The Tide's only loss was a 23-17 setback at Ole Miss on October 4th. The Buckeyes earned their playoff spot with a 59-0 demolition of Wisconsin in the Big Ten Championship. Ohio State is also 12-and-1 on the season. The Buckeyes' only loss came in the second game of the season to Virginia Tech on September 6th. Cardale Jones starts at quarterback for OSU, which lost starter J.T. Barrett to a broken ankle in the regular-season finale against Michigan. The winner of this game will play the winner of the Rose Bowl between Oregon or Florida State for the national championship on January 12th at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

 width=>>Oregon, Florida State Meet In Rose Bowl

(Pasadena, CA) -- A pair of Heisman Trophy-winning quarterbacks face off as the Rose Bowl takes on a brand new identity in the College Football Playoff between second-ranked Oregon and third-ranked Florida State. The winner will take on the winner of the Sugar Bowl between Alabama and Ohio State in the College Football Playoff Championship Game on January 12th at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas. The Ducks earned their way to Pasadena by going 12-and-1, and avenging their lone loss of the season by dominating Arizona 51-13 in the Pac-12 Championship game. Heisman Trophy winner Marcus Mariota will be under center for Oregon, while 2013 winner Jameis [[ JAME-iss ]] Winston starts for FSU. Winston was cleared of student conduct violations last week related to allegations that he sexually assaulted a female student in 2012. The 13-and-0 Seminoles have not lost a game in over two years, and won the ACC Championship Game 37-35 over Georgia Tech. Oregon last won the Rose Bowl in 2011, when the game featured the top teams from the Pac-12 and Big Ten.

Local Weather - Sponsored By: