Local News

Logano Takes Eventful Daytona 500

Joey Logano won the Daytona 500 for the first time after holding off the field in a
green-white-checkered finish on Sunday at Daytona International Speedway.

Logano, the driver of the No. 22 Ford for Team Penske, claimed his ninth career victory in the Sprint Cup Series. His previous best finish in the Daytona 500 was ninth, which occurred in the 2012 race. Logano became the first driver this season to be virtually
guaranteed of a spot in the Chase for the Sprint Cup championship field.

 width=This year's Daytona 500 featured one of the most thrilling conclusions in the 57-year history of this prestigious race, with drivers battling three-wide for the lead during the closing stages. Logano moved to the front on lap 191 and then held the lead for the final 13 laps around this 2.5-mile superspeedway.

An accident involving Justin Allgaier and Ty Dillon on the frontstretch on lap 197 forced a caution and therefore led to the two-lap overtime finish. NASCAR briefly halted the race to allow track workers to remove Allgaier's damaged car from the track.

After the final restart, Logano got pushing help from Clint Bowyer to put him ahead of the pack. Kevin Harvick, the defending Sprint Cup champion, and Dale Earnhardt Jr., who won the Daytona 500 last year, mounted a charge towards Logano just before the field crossed
the line to complete the penultimate lap.

At age 24 years, 8 months and 29 days, Logano also became the second-youngest driver ever to win the Daytona 500. Trevor Bayne set the record when he won this event one day after he turned 20 years old in 2011.

Townhall Top of the Hour News

Local Weather - Sponsored By:


Local News

DeWittDN on Facebook