Local News

Wisconsin's Frank Kaminsky is the Big Ten's Player of the Year.

As Kaminsky led the Badgers to the outright Big Ten championship, the senior averaged 19.9 points and 8.2 rebounds per game in conference play.

Kaminsky has scored at least 20 points on 13 occasions this season and hauled in double-digit rebounds in 10 games.

Badger head coach Bo Ryan was named Coach of the Year by conference coaches, while Maryland head coach Mark Turgeon received the honor from the media.

In Maryland's first Big Ten season, Turgeon led the Terrapins to the No. 2 seed in the conference tournament.

Ohio State's D'Angelo Russell was named Freshman of the Year by coaches and media. Purdue's Rapheal Davis was named the Defensive Player of the Year, and Iowa's Gabe Olaseni was voted Sixth Man of the Year by coaches.

 width=Illinois senior Nnanna Egwu was selected to the Big Ten All-Defensive Team.

Egwu earned a spot on the All-Defensive Team, chosen by the league coaches. Known for his versatility and ability to guard anywhere on the court, Egwu ranked among conference leaders in blocked shots, steals and rebounds. During Big Ten play he was third in the league in blocks (1.8 bpg), seventh in steals (1.3 spg) and 11th in rebounding (6.3 rpg).

Senior Rayvonte Rice and sophomore Malcolm Hill were honorable mention All-Big Ten picks.

Local Weather - Sponsored By: