Local News

In a commanding margin, Roger Cyrulik defeated incumbent Mayor Carolyn Peters.

Receiving 830 votes, good for 71% of the vote, Roger Cyrulik will return to his role as Mayor of the City of Clinton. Mayor Carolyn Peters received 336 votes for 29% of the vote. There was only a 23% turnout for this year's election.

Cyrulik says he ran because he wanted to serve the people again and has some unfinished business he wants to see through.

[audio:4071590628-4815cyrulik.mp3] [/audio]

Incumbent Nan Crang defeated her challenger for Streets and Public Improvements, Mike Bray by a vote of 661-500. Crang received 57% of the vote.

Commissioner for Public Health and Safety will have a new head on the City Council. Challenger Dan Ballenger defeated incumbent Jerry Milton with 64% of the vote. He received 747 votes to Milton's 36%.

Incumbent Commissioner of Public Property, John Wise, ran unopposed and will return to his post.

Additionally, Tom Edmunds, Commissioner of Accounts and Finance, ran unopposed.

The Clinton School Board had three members on the ballot that will automatically be on. Incumbent John Blythe has been re-elected in an uncontested race and Rodney Rogers and Ron Connor will be new members to the Board who ran uncontested.

Connor is the former long time Principal of Clinton High School.

In a tight race for a two-year seat on the Board of Education, that is the seat left by the late Tom Pruser, Mike Walker defeated incumbent Russell Long with 962 votes to Long's 901. Walker won with 52% of the vote.

A four year term on the board was up for grabs among five candidates. Incumbent Nancy Stokowski received 867 votes edging out challenger Chris Hammer. Hammer received 835 votes. Stokowski received 13% of the vote to the 12.6% of the vote for Hammer.

Other candidates that were defeated included Evan Severson (554), Mitchi Tucker (764) and Traci Golden (680).

The tallies are all but final, as results are still awaiting the absentee voters, who have the next two weeks to get their votes in to the County Clerk. County Clerk, Dana Smith, reports there are only about ten absentee ballots out at this time.

In other results from contested races across DeWitt County:

DeWitt Village Trustees:

LEO MOLLET 10 29.41 %
TED NICHOLS 12 35.29 %

Kenney Village Trustee:

JOHN WRAGE 36 37.50 %
JOY HOLMES 32 33.33 %

Wapell Clerk (2-Year Term)

KIM YEARRY 127 67.20 %

Wapella Trustee (4-Year Term)

MARK A MILLER 58 10.98 %
JANE BURAGLIO 60 11.36 %
ROBIN MORROW 54 10.23 %
DOTTIE SUMMERS 119 22.54 %
NANCY FALK 121 22.92 %
JOHN GOERGEN 116 21.97 %

Wapella Trustee (2-Year Term)

DALE RUSSY KARR 136 71.58 %

Waynesville Village Trustee

DAVID TAYLOR 20 50.00 %
JASON DANNER 20 50.00 %

Weldon Village Trustee

JESSICA L. SHOTT 26 35.62 %
ZENDA A. ALTES 19 26.03 %

Local Weather - Sponsored By:
Townhall Top of the Hour News


SRN News