Local News

Montreal Canadiens goaltender Carey Price dominated the 2015 NHL awards show on Wednesday, capping the evening by taking home the Hart Trophy as the league's Most Valuable Player.

Price, who had previously taken the Lindsay Award and the Vezina Trophy earlier on, led the NHL in wins (44), goals-against average (1.96) and save percentage (.933), becoming the first goaltender to pace the League in all three categories since Chicago's Ed Belfour in 1990-91.

The 27-year-old Vancouver native collected 139 first-place votes and 1.498 points, beating Alex Ovechkin handily for second place (888 points) and outclassing Islanders captain John Tavares (739) who finished third.

Calgary Flames bench boss Bob Hartley was honored with the Jack Adams Award, given annually to the league's top coach. Hartley led the youth-oriented Flames to a 20-point improvement over the previous regular season and guided the club to their first playoff berth since 2009. He became the first head coach in Flames franchise history to be selected, garnering 37 first-place votes and 237 points overall.

In a bit of a surprise pick, Florida Panthers defenseman Aaron Ekblad was selected for the Calder Trophy as the NHL's top rookie for the 2014-15 season over fleet forwards Johnny Gaudreau and Mark Stone.

Ottawa Senators defenseman Erik Karlsson took home the James Norris Memorial Trophy, awarded to the NHL's top defenseman. Karlsson, who also won the award in 2012, led all defensemen in points with 66 and ranked second among his counterparts with a career-high 21 goals in 82 games. He also finished third in the league in average ice time (27:15 per game).

For the third time in the last four seasons, Boston's Patrice Bergeron was tabbed as the Frank J. Selke trophy recipient, awarded to the league's best defensive forward. Bergeron won an NHL-best 60.2 percent of his league-high 1,951 faceoffs, while posting 23 goals and 32 assists over 81 regular-season games for the Bruins. He joined Pavel Datsyuk, Jere Lehtinen, Guy Carbonneau and Bob Gainey as the lone players to be named a Selke winner at least three times.

Goaltender Devan Dubnyk of the Minnesota Wild was selected as the winner of the Bill Masterton Trophy for perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.

In other award decisions, Calgary's Jiri Hudler won the Lady Byng for gentlemanly play, Tampa boss Steve Yzerman was voted NHL's best general manager, Chicago Blackhawks captain Jonathan Toews garnered the Messier Award for leadership and Henrik Zetterberg of the Red Wings claimed the King Clancy for humanitarian contributions to the community.

Local Weather