Local News

 The fans have rewarded the AL-leading Kansas City Royals.

They've also taken notice of Bryce Harper's scintillating first half of the season.

Four Royals were named starters for July 14th's All-Star Game in Cincinnati on Sunday.

Salvador Perez (13,747,294) will start at catcher and Alcides Escobar (11,960,907) at shortstop. while Lorenzo Cain (12,399,127) and Alex Gordon (10,609,006) will man two of the three outfield spots.

 width=Kansas City has more starters this season than its previous 25 years combined.

The Washington Nationals outfielder Harper (13,864,950) set a National League All-Star Game voting record. The 22-year-old, who is hitting .344 with 25 homers and 60 RBI so far this season, easily surpassed the previous NL record of 7,621,370 set by San Francisco Giants catcher Buster Posey in 2012.

Toronto Blue Jays third baseman Josh Donaldson set an all-time All-Star Game voting record with 14,090,188.

Detroit Tigers first basemen Miguel Cabrera (13,834,271) was slated to make his 10th all-star appearance, but went on the disabled list for the first time in his career Saturday with a calf injury.

The Houston Astros' Jose Altuve (9,634,464) will begin the game at second to round out the AL infield.

The Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim's Mike Trout (14,013,021) received the other outfield starting spot and the Seattle Mariners' Nelson Cruz (10,632,184) won the voting as designated hitter.

Harper was followed in outfield voting by the injured Giancarlo Stanton (7,036,537) of the Miami Marlins and the St. Louis Cardinals' Matt Holiday (6,362,653).

Posey led catchers with 9,909,668 votes. Around the rest of the infield, the Arizona Diamondbacks' Paul Goldschmidt (9,119,375) will start at first base, the Marlins' Dee Gordon (7,574,750) at second, St. Louis' Jhonny Peralta (8,478,474) at shortstop and the Cincinnati Reds' Todd Frazier (9,233,686) at third.

Once again, the winner of the All-Star Game will give its league home-field advantage in the World Series.

The American League earned a 5-3 win last year at Target Field, but the Senior Circuit still owns a 43-40-2 mark in the all-time series.

The rest of the rosters will be announced Monday.

Local Weather