Local News

If you didn't know any better, you would think the DeWitt County Board is made up of 11 members.

That is because for the better part of 2015, Board Member Ron Savage has been absent at DeWitt County Board meetings. Chairman of the DeWitt County Republicans, Dustin Peterson addressed this last Thursday night before the County Board and says the party has little power to address Savage's absence.

[audio:9281580425-92815savagemissing1.mp3] [/audio]

Denise Torbert is a Precinct Committee Chair in District C, which is represented by Savage. She says they are very frustrated by the situation and are asking the County Board to seek his resignation.

[audio:9281580428-92815savagemissing2.mp3] [/audio]

According to DeWitt County Board Chair David Newberg, the County Board has no authority on the matter.

Attempts to reach Savage for comment were unsuccessful.

Local Weather