Local News

Wapella Trustee Board Has Tie in Election Final Results

A coin toss will decide one of the three seats for the Wapella Village Trustee Board.
The final votes were tallied Wednesday morning at the DeWitt County Clerk's office and there was a tie after the six ballots were counted. 
Suzanna Holland of the Citizens Party received the most votes with 97. Mandy Huff of the Peoples Party received 91 votes.
The tie is between Reggie Westfall of the Citizens Party and Sherry Mears of the Peoples Party with 90 votes apiece.
A coin toss will determine the winner.
The race for Village Clerk in Wapella went final as Lauren Johnson received 97 votes to the 72 votes for Sherri Stamp.
The two year seat for the Village Board of Trustees went final Wednesday morning as Ryan Carter of the Peoples Party received 85 votes to the 84 votes for Mark Miller of the Citizens Party.
The Wapella Village President race is final with Richard Karr receiving 90 votes, defeating Cheri Miller, who received 83 votes.
A date and time for the coin toss to break the tie for the four-year seat will be determined at a later date. 
By a vote of 530-488 Chris Hammer defeated Marcia Cooper for the 2-year seat on the Clinton School Board. The seat is for an unexpired term.
Incumbent Mike Walker will retain his seat on the Clinton Board of Education.
Dan Matthews and Cole Ritter were elected to fill two vacancies on the School Board. 

Townhall Top of the Hour News

Local Weather - Sponsored By:


Local News

DeWittDN on Facebook