Local News

Buchannon Defeats Crang, Bartuch for Streets Commissioner; Edmunds Defeats Former Mayor for Finance Commissioner; Farmer City Mayor Wins By 14 Votes

Kenny Buchanan has defeated incumbent Nan Crang for Commissioner of Streets and Public Improvements and former Clinton Mayor Carolyn Peters could not overcome incumbent Tom Edmunds for Finance Commissioner on the Clinton City Council in the April 2 election Tuesday night.


Meanwhile, Farmer City Mayor Scott Testory held off Larry Woliung by a mere 14 votes in a 232-218 final.


Edmunds receives over two-thirds of the vote with a commanding 499-237 victory over the former Mayor. 


Buchanan received 60-percent of the vote to oust incumbent Crang who received only 30-percent of the vote for a 449-232 tally. John Bartuch received only 65 votes. 


The alderman race for the Monticello City Council, the only contested race for the Council, was won by Tom Reed by only six-votes over Michael Koon, 80-74. Elaine Yoon received 31 votes.


Other notable uncontested races in DeWitt County, Chris Hammer, Tammie Ennis, Ron Conner, and Rodney Rogers were elected to four-year terms on the Clinton Board of Education. Sondra Baker was elected to an un-expired two-year term.


On the Blue Ridge Board of Education, Chelsie Leffelman, Carlos Burton, and Dale Shneman were voted to four-year terms.


Voter turnout for the City Council races in Clinton was at only 17-percent. In Farmer City, voter turnout was nearly 39-percent. 

Townhall Top of the Hour News

Local Weather - Sponsored By:


Local News

DeWittDN on Facebook