Local News

DeWitt County Board Likely To See Four New Members

The DeWitt County Board could have a 30-percent turnover come December. 


Results from Tuesday night's election suggest all four challengers to Districts A and C incumbents will be the winners. In District A with five out of five precincts reporting, challengers Buck Carter, Aaron Kammeyer, and Jamie Prestegaard were the big winners. Carter received the most votes with 1,297 while Kammeyer tallied 1,187 and Prestegaard followed with 1,116. Incumbents Camille Redman and Lance Reece, both Democrats, fell far behind with Redman garnering 598 votes and Reece 435. 


In District C, challenger Republican Megan Myers after six out of six precincts reporting tallied a district-high 1,129 votes followed closely by incumbent Republican Jay Wickenhauser with 1,117 and incumbent Republican Board Chair David Newberg with 1,048 votes. Democrat incumbent Scott Nimmo lagged behind with 631 votes. 


District A had a 74-percent voter turnout while District C had 72-percent voter turnout.


Incumbent County Circuit Clerk Michelle Van Valey received nearly 84-percent of the vote, comfortably ahead of challenger Nathan Florey with all 23 DeWitt County precincts reporting. Van Valey received 6,202 votes to Florey's 1,185 with a 74-percent voter turnout. 


Uncontested races in DeWitt County included State's Attorney Dan Markwell, County Coroner Randy Rice, and the Farmer City retail sales tax proposal was turned down by a vote of 649-288. 


The Republican tickets locally were also dominant Tuesday. The Trump/Pence ticket received 70-percent of the local vote, Mark Curran received 65-percent of the local vote however, incumbent Dick Durbin has been declared the winner for the US Senate race. 


Additionally, Congressman Rodney Davis received nearly 75-percent of the vote to challenger Betsy Dirksen-Londrigan. 


The State's constitutional amendment proposal received only 22-percent support in DeWitt County. 


Tallies are unofficial as absentee and mail-in ballots still have two weeks to be counted. 

Local Weather - Sponsored By:


Townhall Top of the Hour News


SRN News