Local News

2 Ag Voices Heard on WHOW Win Awards at Last Week's NAFB Convention

2 familiar voices in agriculture programming on 2 Miller Media Group ag radio stations WTIM in Taylorville and WHOW in Clinton, each won a special award at last week's National Association of Farm Broadcasting convention in Kansas City.


Stu Ellis (left), host of the long-running daily feature called "The Farm Gate", won the "Workhorse of the Year" award from the N-A-F-B.   Ellis has been an advocate for agriculture on-the-air and in print in Central Illinois for decades.  He also helped bring the Farm Progress Show to Decatur at the turn of the century.  


Ellis was presented the award by another long-time farm radio voice and NAFB member, Mike Perrine.


Ellis earlier this year won the "Illinois Agricultural Communicator Excellence in Media" award from the Illinois Soybean Association.



Another award winner at last week's N-A-F-B convention in Kansas City, was Rita Frazier, Director of Radio for the RFD Radio Network and another familiar voice on WTIM and WHOW, who won their "Farm Broadcaster of the Year" award.

Local Weather - Sponsored By:


Townhall Top of the Hour News


SRN News