Local Sports

Illini's Sedlock Named Big Ten Pitcher of the Year

Illinois starting pitcher Cody Sedlock was named Big Ten Pitcher of the Year, the conference office announced Tuesday.


Sedlock, the Big Ten leader in strikeouts and innings pitched, becomes the fifth Fighting Illini pitcher in history to earn the award.


He joins 2015 winner Tyler Jay to give Illinois back-to-back Big Ten Pitchers of the Year for the second time in program history.


Jason Anderson won in 2000, followed by Drew Dickinson, who is now the Illini's pitching coach, in 2001.


Sedlock, one of four unanimous first team selections, was the only pitcher in the conference to finish in the top five of innings (1st, 64.2), strikeouts (1st, 75), ERA (3rd, 1.67) and opponent batting average (3rd, .188) during conference games. He finished the year with a 5-3 record, 2.49 ERA and a program-record 116 strikeouts in 101.1 innings.


Senior catcher Jason Goldstein was named to the All-Big Ten third team, his third straight All-Big Ten selection, pitcher Cole Bellair earned All-Freshman Team recognition and senior reliever J.D. Nielsen was Illinois' Sportsmanship Award honoree.

Local Weather - Sponsored By:


Townhall Top of the Hour News


SRN News