Local Sports

The 2016 Baseball Hall of Fame class was enshrined during Sunday's ceremony in Cooperstown, NY, with what was an incredibly large crowd on hand. Ken Griffey Jr. and Mike Piazza were, of course, the player inductees as voted on by the BBWAA.

Also, Dan Shaughnessy will be awarded the J.G. Taylor Spink Award for writers and Graham McNamee will be posthumously presented with the Ford C. Frick for broadcasting excellence.


As we found out in January, Griffey was named on 437 of the 440 BBWAA ballots, meaning his 99.32 percent figure set a record, breaking Tom Seaver's 98.84 percent, a mark that had stood since 1992.

That's not all, of course. Griffey's plaque will show him with a Mariners cap, making him the first ever Hall of Famer to be wearing one.


Further, Griffey is the first-ever number one overall pick to be enshrined into Cooperstown, which sounds a bit surprising, but the draft didn't start until 1965.


The draft is now 40 rounds. It used to be 50. Before that, it was unlimited. Given that the draft isn't going to revert such a format, Piazza will hold this honor for the rest of time: He's the lowest draft pick ever to become a Hall of Famer. In the 1988 draft, the Dodgers selected him in the 62nd round.

Local Weather - Sponsored By:
Townhall Top of the Hour News


SRN News