Local Sports
On Thursday, MLB announced the winners in each league of the 2016 Silver Slugger awards. 
Cubs 1B Anthony Rizzo and starting pitcher Jake Arrieta were received Silver Slugger awards in the National League. 
National League Silver Slugger winners:
C - Wilson Ramos, Nationals (1)
1B - Anthony Rizzo, Cubs (1)
2B - Daniel Murphy, Nationals (1)
3B - Nolan Arenado, Rockies (2)
SS - Corey Seager, Dodgers (1)
OF - Charlie Blackmon, Rockies (1)
OF - Christian Yelich, Marlins (1)
OF - Yoenis Cespedes, Mets (1)
P - Jake Arrieta, Cubs (1)
American League Silver Slugger winners:
C - Salvador Perez, Royals (1)
1B - Miguel Cabrera, Tigers (7)
2B - Jose Altuve, Astros (3)
3B - Josh Donaldson, Blue Jays (2)
SS - Xander Bogaerts, Red Sox (2)
OF - Mike Trout, Angels (5)
OF - Mookie Betts, Red Sox (1)
OF - Mark Trumbo, Orioles (1)
DH - David Ortiz, Red Sox (7)
Coaches and managers of Major League teams vote for the players they feel are the best offensive producers at each position in the field in both the American and National Leagues.
Managers and coaches are not allowed to vote for players on their own team.
There were 11 first time Silver Slugger recipients this year. 

Local Weather - Sponsored By:
Townhall Top of the Hour News


SRN News