Local Sports
At the NBA Awards show in New York, Russell Westbrook was named the NBA's Most Valuable Player after what might have been one of the most competitive MVP races ever.
Westbrook wins the award over James Harden, Kawhi Leonard, and LeBron James, who was not nominated. All three were very deserving but only one is able to win it. At the end of the day voters couldn't help but be swayed by Westbrook's triple double numbers. 
His raw production might have not been as efficient as Harden's, but what he did on a basketball court was truly impressive. The OKC superstar averaged 31.6 points, 10.7 rebounds, and 10.4 assists while leading the league in scoring. 
Furthering Westbrook's case was that he clearly carried the Thunder on a nightly basis. Oklahoma City just wasn't the same team when he left the floor and that may have been what sealed the deal for many voters. This is the Most "Valuable" Player award and carrying that roster to the playoffs is obvious value. 
Most Valuable Player: Russell Westbrook (OKC)
Defensive Player of the Year: Draymond Green (GSW)
Most Improved Player: Giannis Antetokounmpo (MIL)
Sixth Man of the Year: Eric Gordon (HOU)
Coach of the Year: Mike D'Antoni (HOU)
Rookie of the Year: Malcolm Brogdon (MIL)
Executive of the Year: Bob Myers (GSW)

Local Weather - Sponsored By: