Local Sports
Golfers on the PGA Tour will compete for $363 million over 49 events in the 2017-18 PGA Tour season. The full schedule was released on Tuesday, and it includes two additional events from the 2016-17 season. Those two tournaments are the CJ Cup at Nine Bridges in the fall and the Corales Puntacana Resort & Club Championship, which will be played opposite the WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play in the spring.
Other than those two events, the schedule looks more or less like it did in 2016-17. There will be a couple of new golf courses used (Trinity Forest for the Byron Nelson, Ridgewood Country Club for The Northern Trust and Aronimink Golf Club for the BMW Championship), but everything else remains the same.
In terms of weeks off, there won't be many. The fall series runs from Oct. 5 to Nov. 19 before a break until the Tournament of Champions starts on Jan. 4, 2018. Then it's every week until the FedEx Cup playoffs, three playoff events, an off week and then the Tour Championship.
The bigger changes won't take place until 2019 when The Players Championship moves back to March and the PGA Championship goes to May. That year, FedEx Cup Playoffs could be shortened and more events could be taken from the spring and summer and thrown into the fall wraparound schedule to try to get away from the season ending at the beginning of football.
The Arnold Palmer Invitational will be March 15-18 while the first major of the season, the Masters, falls on April 5-8. 
The US Open will play June 14-18 while The Open Championship will be July 19-22.
The Major schedule rounds out with the PGA Championship August 19-22.

Local Weather - Sponsored By:
Townhall Top of the Hour News


SRN News