Local Sports

Vandy Wins College World Series

The Vanderbilt Commodores are college baseball national champions for 2019 after a 8-2 win over Michigan in the decisive Game 3 of the College World Series in Omaha. It's the Commodores' second national title -- the first came in 2014. Vanderbilt also becomes the fourth team in the last five years to win the College World Series after losing Game 1 of the best-of-three finals. 


Michigan opened the game with three straight singles and a 1-0 lead, which led to bullpen activity for Vanderbilt before the first out of the game had been recorded. Vandy starter Mason Hickman, though, settled down nicely after some early command-and-control issues. Michigan had been 39-6 when scoring first in 2019 and 4-0 when scoring first during this year's College World Series. 


Vandy center fielder Pat DeMarco tied the score in the second, as he hit the Commodores' 100th home run of the season to make it 1-1. 


Vanderbilt took the lead for good in the third when Michigan starter Karl Kauffmann issued a bases-loaded walk with two outs. A Stephen Scott single then gave the Commodores a 4-1 lead. One can certainly argue that Kauffmann, laboring badly in the inning, should not have been left in to face the lefty-hitting Scott. 

Townhall Top of the Hour News

Local Weather - Sponsored By:


Local News

DeWittDN on Facebook