Local Sports

Illinois Big Man, Cockburn, Named to Second-Team All Big Ten

Wisconsin’s Johnny Davis is The Associated Press player of the year in the Big Ten Conference and the Badgers’ Greg Gard is coach of the year.


Davis won top honors over Iowa’s Keegan Murray on Tuesday, and both were unanimous picks for spots on the AP All-Big Ten team along with Purdue’s Jaden Ivey in voting of journalists who cover the conference.


Nebraska freshman Bryce McGowens is newcomer of the year.


Joining Davis, Murray and Ivey on the all-conference first team are Ohio State’s E.J. Liddell and Illinois’ Kofi Cockburn. Liddell is a repeat first-team pick, and Cockburn was on the second team a year ago.


The second team is made up of Rutgers’ Ron Harper Jr., Illinois’ Trent Frazier, Indiana’s Trayce Jackson-Davis, Purdue’s Zach Edey and Michigan’s Hunter Dickinson.

Townhall Top of the Hour News

Local Weather - Sponsored By:


Local News

DeWittDN on Facebook