Local Sports

Joey Logano used a bump-and-run to ease leader William Byron out of the way on the next-to-last lap and won at Darlington, ending a 40-race winless streak. 


Logano's maneuver has been all the talk in the NASCAR world this week as the series shifts to Kansas after a lengthy run at short and intermediate tracks. 


Kyle Busch won after starting ninth in the spring race last year. 


Logano became the 10th different winner through 12 races. He also extended to 11 his streak of years with at least one victory. 


Byron and Ross Chastain are the lone two-time winners. Chase Elliott now leads Byron and Ryan Blaney by 65 points. Logano is fourth, 79 points back, with Chastain, Busch and Martin Truex Jr. all 89 behind. 


The race will be followed by the non-points all-star race at Texas, a virtual one-week break from the championship battle at the regular season midpoint for the premier series.


The Adventhealth 400 races at 2 pm central time Sunday with practice and qualifying Saturday afternoon at 4 pm. 


Pole winner John Hunter Nemechek held off Carson Hocevar by 0.552 seconds in overtime at Darlington to earn his first victory of the season in the Camping World Truck Series last weekend at Darlington. 


Nemechek became the sixth different winner in seven races this season. Zane Smith is the only two-time winner. Nemechek jumped to second in the points race, 30 behind Ben Rhodes. Chandler Smith is 32 back. Zane Smith all leads all drivers with 6 top-10s, but is fifth in points, 42 back.


Busch won after starting second in the spring race last year. 


The Camping World Truck Series races at 7 pm Saturday night with practice and qualifying Saturday morning at 11 am. 


The XFinity Series takes the week off and returns next week at Texas. Justin Allgaier ended a 34-race winless streak with his second consecutive victory at Darlington, beating teammate Noah Gragson and leading a second consecutive 1-2 finish for JR Motorsports.

Local Weather - Sponsored By:
Townhall Top of the Hour News


SRN News