Local Sports

NASCAR Cup Series Round of 12 Opens In Texas

Chris Buescher gave RFK Racing, a team long-owned by Jack Roush that added Brad Keselowski as a co-owner this year, its first victory in a points-paying Cup race in over five years by winning the night race at Bristol last Saturday night.


2014 series champion Kevin Harvick, Kyle Busch (2015, 2019) and Richard Childress Racing teammates Austin Dillon and Tyler Reddick were eliminated as the playoffs moves to the round of 12 starting this weekend at Texas Motor Speedway.


Buescher became the 19th different winner in NASCAR’s top series this season, matching a record accomplished four other times, and the third straight non-playoff participant to win in the postseason. 


Chase Elliott leads Joey Logano by 15 points, Ross Chastain by 20 and defending series champ Kyle Larson by 21.


Kyle Larson won from the pole position in the fall race last season on his way to the 2021 championship.


The 334-lap, 500 mile race begins at 2:30 pm Sunday afternoon. 


Noah Gragson held off Brandon Jones over the closing laps at Bristol to win his third consecutive XFinity Series race and series-best sixth this year.


Gragson enter the first race of the XFinity playoffs as the top seed while A.J. Allmendinger won his second consecutive regular season title. Gragson leads Ty Gibbs by 13 points, Justin Allgaier by 18 and Allmendinger by 19 heading into the Round of 12. Ryan Sieg claimed the last spot in the postseason by five points over Landon Cassill, who finished 35th.


John Hunter Nemechek won after starting 10th last fall in Texas. 


The 200-lap, 300 mile race starts at 2:30 pm Saturday afternoon. 


The Camping World Truck Series returns with the second race in the round of eight returns next Saturday at Talladega. 

Townhall Top of the Hour News

Local Weather - Sponsored By:


Local News

DeWittDN on Facebook