Letters Policy
DeWittDailyNews.com welcomes letters to the editor, as a way we can let our readers and listeners sound off on the issues most important to them. If you wish to submit a letter, please note the following guidelines: 
  • All letters should be no more than 500 words in length, and should include the writer's name, address and phone number. We will not publish street address, e-mail address or phone number; rather, we reserve the right to contact writers to determine their validity.
  • We do not accept handwritten letters or letters submitted on paper.  All letters must be submitted electronically to whow@randyradio.com
  • If the editor comments about a letter, the reader may respond with at least as many words as were used by the editor. We would like to stimulate a sincere dialogue.
  • All letters become property of DeWitt Daily News.com and Kaskaskia Broadcasting, Inc., dba WHOW/WEZC Radio, and are subject to editing for length, content, grammar, punctuation at the editor's discretion.
  • Material that may libel or slander an individual or group will neither be accepted nor posted.
  • You may email letters to whow@randyradio.com; to ensure your message is received, please include "Letter to the Editor" in the subject line.
We look forward to hearing from you.


Posted September 21, 2020


Dear Editor:

I believe we must consider leadership in the DeWitt County Board election this year.


As a former member of the County Board, I have worked alongside the incumbents who are running for reelection, and I would like to outline my experiences while doing so.  During my time on the County Board, everyone worked in unison to make sure that we were doing what was right for the County’s residents. We always presented a balanced budget, took care of County infrastructure, and gave the employees the tools they needed to perform their jobs with the most efficiency. 


All Board members respected one another and understood that "we were all in this together."   This is a result of leadership provided by David Newberg as Chairman and Camille Redman as Vice-Chairman.  Because of their vision for a better government, the Board worked its way out of a financial hole and still took care of the demands of the County’s needs. This was done without raising taxes!  The attitude of the Board starts with its leaders. 


Scott Nimmo, Jay Wickenhauser, and Lance Reece worked shoulder to shoulder with the other Board members to resolve all issues presented. 


Although not in leadership roles at that time, they participated in discussions and presented ideas to help reach a working solution.  It takes leadership to operate a governmental body, and these candidates have proven their ability to do just that!


Please vote for proven leaders:

Dave Newberg, Scott Nimmo, and Jay Wickenhauser in District C
Lance Reece and Camille Redman in District A


Randy Perring
Farmer City, IL  61842

Local Weather - Sponsored By:
Townhall Top of the Hour News


SRN News