Letters Policy
DeWittDailyNews.com welcomes letters to the editor, as a way we can let our readers and listeners sound off on the issues most important to them. If you wish to submit a letter, please note the following guidelines: 
  • All letters should be no more than 500 words in length, and should include the writer's name, address and phone number. We will not publish street address, e-mail address or phone number; rather, we reserve the right to contact writers to determine their validity.
  • We do not accept handwritten letters or letters submitted on paper.  All letters must be submitted electronically to whow@randyradio.com
  • If the editor comments about a letter, the reader may respond with at least as many words as were used by the editor. We would like to stimulate a sincere dialogue.
  • All letters become property of DeWitt Daily News.com and Kaskaskia Broadcasting, Inc., dba WHOW/WEZC Radio, and are subject to editing for length, content, grammar, punctuation at the editor's discretion.
  • Material that may libel or slander an individual or group will neither be accepted nor posted.
  • You may email letters to whow@randyradio.com; to ensure your message is received, please include "Letter to the Editor" in the subject line.
We look forward to hearing from you.

Letter to the Editor: Disappointment with DeWitt County Board


Posted May 8, 2018


Dear Editor:


 I am writing this letter to express my extreme disappointment with the DeWitt County Board. The Regional Planning Commission and the Zoning Board of Appeals were tasked with research and recommendations on ordinance changes concerning the wind turbines considered for DeWitt County.  It was obvious they had done research prior to meetings and asked lots of questions. Both committees unanimously voted to recommend the ordinance changes.


At the April board meeting 6 0f the board members decided to vote against the recommendations of a height limit of 499’. Those board members were Lance Reece, Randy Perring, Jay Wickenhauser, Scott Nimmo, Cris Rogers, and Sue Whitted. Of these, Cris Rogers and Sue Whitted represent my district. I usually do not get involved in campaigns but this fall I will be actively campaigning against these two members. I can accept someone having a different opinion than I have but to blatantly disregard the recommendations of these committees is unacceptable.


I would recommend that all residents in DeWitt County look at this list and vote accordingly this fall.


Kathy Evans

Clinton, IL

Townhall Top of the Hour News

Local Weather - Sponsored By:


Local News

DeWittDN on Facebook