Archives for 2018-06

Hawk, Reetz, & Strohl Join Farm Credit Team

Farm Credit Illinois recently three new employees throughout its 60-county territory – Rachel Hawk, of Bloomington, Dylan Reetz, of Cissna Park, and Jon Strohl, of Sigel.

Rachel Hawk

Rachel Hawk

Hawk started June 5 as a human resources generalist in the human resource department based at the financial cooperative’s headquarters in Mahomet. She was raised on her family’s grain farm and graduated from Mercer County High School before receiving her bachelor’s degree in agricultural and consumer economics from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Prior to joining the Farm Credit team, Hawk worked for two years as a human resources intern at Farm Credit Illinois in Mahomet and as a development intern for two months at American Farmland Trust in Washington, DC. She is an active member of the Illinois Farm Bureau Yong Leaders and Illinois FFA Alumni Association. Hawk is the daughter of Mark and Shelly Hawk of Aledo.

Dylan Reetz

Dylan Reetz

Reetz began May 21 as a sales service specialist at the Watseka regional office. The Watseka office serves farm families and rural landowners in Iroquois and northern Ford Counties. He was raised on his family’s Iroquois County grain farm and graduated from Cissna Park High School before receiving his bachelor’s degree in agriculture and consumer economics from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Prior to joining the Farm Credit team, Reetz worked as a summer intern for CoBank based in St. Louis and a Farm Credit Illinois intern based out of the cooperative headquarters in Mahomet for two years. He is the son of Bob and Betty Reetz of Cissna Park.

Jon Strohl

Jon Strohl

Strohl started May 21 as an assistant vice president of crop insurance at the Effingham regional office.  The Effingham office serves farm families and rural landowners in Clay, Cumberland, Effingham, Fayette, Jasper, Marion and Shelby Counties. He was raised on his family’s Shelby County grain and livestock farm and graduated from Neoga High School before receiving his associate’s degree in social science from Lake Land College. Prior to joining the Farm Credit team, Strohl worked for more than four years as a sales consultant at Crop Production Services in Neoga. Strohl resides in Sigel with his wife Elissa with their three children – Liam, Griffin, and Ada.

Farm Credit Mt. Vernon Supports County Extensions

The Farm Credit Illinois Mt. Vernon regional office recently awarded $500 to the Jefferson County University of Illinois Extension and $725 to the White County University of Illinois Extension.

In 2017, FCI invested more than $270,000 in youth, community, and ag literacy initiatives throughout its 60-county territory. The Mt. Vernon regional office annually supports Extension initiatives which further agricultural and youth development in rural communities.


Pictured above from L to R: Craig Koors (FCI), Amy McCarty (White County Extension program coordinator), Donnie Seitz (White County livestock committee member)

The funds gifted to White County will provide new gutters for the 4-H Livestock Barn on the fairgrounds, increasing the lifespan of the building and allowing 4-H members to continue showing annually.

Pictured above from L to R: Caitlyn Wagner, Lilyanne Eastham, Karli Verheyen (FCI)


King Retires From Farm Credit After 20 Years

Sue King, of Sheldon, is retiring from Farm Credit Illinois June 29, after 20 years providing support to generations of farm families in the Watseka area. King is a sales and service specialist based at the Watseka regional office serving Iroquois and northern Ford Counties.

King was raised on a grain and livestock farm in Kentland, Ind. Before joining the workforce, she received a business certificate from Indiana Business College. King and her husband Steve have two children – Jodie (Bryan) Havens and Darrin (Amanda) – and two grandchildren – Evan and Leah. The Farm Credit Illinois team is grateful for King’s leadership and service to farm families and rural communities. 

From 100 Bushels Per Acre Soybeans To No Longer Farming - The Story Of Dan Arkels

In the Fall of 2014, LaSalle County farmer Dan Arkels felt like he won the World Series.  He was the first Illinois farmer to have reached the 100 bushels per acre mark in the Illinois Soybean Association's Yield Challenge, but now ... he's no longer farming.  
NAFB Broadcaster, Jared White, has more...

Farm Credit Celebrates 2018 Agriculture Scholars: Thirty High Schools Seniors Receive $2,000 to Pursue Ag Careers

The class of 2018 Farm Credit agriculture scholars was recognized during a scholarship luncheon at Farm Credit Illinois (FCI) in Mahomet Thursday, May 31.

A total of $60,000 of scholarships were awarded to 30 high school seniors. Each scholar receives $2,000 from FCI to pursue a degree in the field of agriculture. Twenty-seven of the students attended the recognition program.

Pictured above from left to right: Back row: Travis Kaeb of Buckley (Iroquois County), Noah Benedict of Dewey (Champaign County), Jebediah Baumgart of Norris City (White County), Jake Wente of Sigel (Cumberland County), Seth Mitchell of Olney (Richland County), Julissa Garcia of Gilman (Iroquois County), Bridget Payne of Harrisburg (Saline County); Middle row: Remington Henson of Wayne City (Wayne County), Tucker Marrs of Paris (Edgar County), Nicholas DeVries of New Douglas (Montgomery County), Clayton Smith of Sumner (Lawrence County), Peyton Tester of Witt (Montgomery County), Dillon White of Jacksonville (Morgan County), Tyler Hollis of Columbia (St. Clair County), Reed Jostes of Maroa (Macon County); Front row: Cole Herrmann of Hoyleton (Washington County), Megan Finfrock of Clinton (DeWitt County), Becca Royer of Oakland (Coles County), Parker Karrick of Patoka (Marion County), Alexis Ruemker of Columbia (Monroe County), Abigail Wagner of Milford (Iroquois County), Sarah Richey of Medora (Jersey County), Jenna Wheeler of Jacksonville (Morgan County), Cierra Crowell of Lincoln (Logan County), Sophia Hortin of Fisher (Champaign County), Benjamin Polo of Carlinville (Macoupin County)

This marks the fifteenth year of the Farm Credit agriculture scholarship program, which has awarded $400,000 to 329 students in central and southern Illinois since 2004. Scholarship selections are based on a combination of academic achievement, participation and leadership in school and community organizations, and the applicant’s commitment to an agricultural career.


“Farm Credit Illinois is proud to provide positive opportunities and lend support to young people with a passion for agriculture,” says Rod Stoll, vice president of marketplace engagement for FCI. “These scholars will assume careers that shape the future of agriculture and Rural America, in turn Helping Farm Families Succeed.”

Scholars not pictured above: Ryder Flener of Elizabethtown (Hardin County), Leah Hall of Carbondale (Jackson County), Callie McClay of Oakdale (Washington County), Calyssa Richie of New Berlin (Sangamon County)


2024-01 | 2023-12 | 2023-11 | 2023-10 | 2023-09 | 2023-08 | 2023-07 | 2023-06 | 2023-05 | 2023-04 | 2023-03 | 2023-02 | 2023-01 | 2022-12 | 2022-11 | 2022-10 | 2022-09 | 2022-08 | 2022-07 | 2022-06 | 2022-05 | 2022-04 | 2022-03 | 2022-02 | 2022-01 | 2021-12 | 2021-11 | 2021-10 | 2021-09 | 2021-08 | 2021-07 | 2021-06 | 2021-05 | 2021-04 | 2021-03 | 2021-02 | 2021-01 | 2020-12 | 2020-11 | 2020-10 | 2020-09 | 2020-08 | 2020-07 | 2020-06 | 2020-05 | 2020-04 | 2020-03 | 2020-02 | 2020-01 | 2019-12 | 2019-11 | 2019-10 | 2019-09 | 2019-08 | 2019-07 | 2019-06 | 2019-05 | 2019-04 | 2019-02 | 2019-01 | 2018-12 | 2018-11 | 2018-09 | 2018-08 | 2018-07 | 2018-06 | 2018-05 | 2018-04 | 2018-03 | 2018-02 | 2018-01 | 2017-12 | 2017-11 | 2017-10 | 2017-09 | 2017-08 | 2017-07 | 2017-03 | 2016-12 | 2016-11 | 2016-09 | 2016-08 | 2016-06 | 2016-05 | 2016-04 | 2016-03 | 2016-02 | 2015-12 | 2015-11