Archives for 2019-12

The Farm Show With Jared White - Schedule 12/30/19 - 1/3/20

On The Show next week...


12/30 am (6:40a & 1:07p on WHOW)
BEST OF 2019 – Farm Progress Show 19 – SmartAg & Roxor


12/30 noon (12:20p & 4:35p on WHOW)
BEST OF 2019 – Janie's Mill – Harold Wilkens – Farmer & Jill Brockman-Cummings – Miller


12/31 am
BEST OF 2019 – Jake Lieb – Piatt County Farmer (Harvest)


12/31 noon
BEST OF 2019 – David Brix – Macon County Farmer (Harvest)


1/1/20 am
Travis Deppe – IL Corn Growers Precision Conservation Management 


1/1/20 noon
Julie Armstrong – Ex Dir of IL Nutrient Research Education Council 


1/2 am
Scott Irwin – Ag Economist at U of I


1/ 2 noon
Derek Martin – Logan Farm Bureau, Tyler Barringer – DeWitt FB & Wyatt Williamson – Edgar FB


1/3 am
Shannon Carroll – Piatt FB & Mike Stacey – Macon FB & Brad Uken – Champaign FB


1/3 noon
Jonathon Coppess – Dir of Gardner Ag Program @ U of I 







The Farm Show With Jared White - Schedule 12/23/19 - 12/27/19

On The Show next week....a few days without shows for the holiday, and then we begin our "Best Of 2019" shows to the end of the year.....



12/23 am (6:40a & 1:07p on WHOW)
Tom Heironymous – DeWitt  FB & Mike Briggs – Champaign FB
Larry Dallas – Douglas FB & Dennis Verbeck – Henry FB


12/23 noon (12:20p & 4:35p on WHOW)
Todd Hubbs – U of I Agricultural Economist


12/24 am
Mitch Heisler – Marketing Manager @ Wyffels Hybrids


12/24 noon


12/25 am


12/25 noon


12/26 am
BEST OF 2019 - Dave Steward - DeWitt Farmer (Planting)


12/26 noon
BEST OF 2019 – Andy Bolsen - Moultrie Farmer (Planting)


12/27 am
BEST OF 2019 – Erica Stark – Dir of National Hemp Association


12/27 noon
BEST OF 2019 – Darren Moser - Clinton YMCA Acres For Kids







Aaron Johnson Named New President/CEO of Farm Credit Illinois

Aaron Johnson was named Farm Credit Illinois president and CEO by the cooperative’s board of directors. Johnson has served as interim CEO since Sept. 25, following the passing of former CEO Tom Tracy. 

“Aaron is an experienced executive and visionary leader whose understanding of this organization is only surpassed by his passion for both farm family members and FCI employees,” states FCI board chair Eric Mosbey. “He has provided steady and seamless leadership these past months and the board is confident he will lead the cooperative brilliantly in Helping Farm Families Succeed for the coming years.” 

With nearly 35 years of Farm Credit and banking career experiences, Johnson first joined the Farm Credit System in 1985. Following a successful lending and field management career based in Farm Credit’s Pontiac and Decatur offices, he joined the Association’s senior management team in 2002 and named executive vice president in 2014.

Johnson is a native of New Holland and earned an organizational business management degree from Illinois State University after attending Lincoln Land Community College. Aaron currently serves on the Farm Credit Foundations Trust Committee, which provides fiduciary oversight of the human resources collaboration serving more than 8,900 Farm Credit employees in 30 states.

Aaron and his wife Debbie reside in Monticello and have three children and three grandchildren.


The Farm Show With Jared White - Schedule 12/16/19 to 12/20/19

Next week on The Farm Show....


12/16 am  (6:40a & 1:07p on WHOW)
Mark Gebhards – Executive Director of Governmental Affaris & Commodities @ ILFB


12/16 noon  (12:20p & 4:35p on WHOW)
LIVE @ DeWitt County Farm Bureau


12/17 am
Brett Newnam – Good Forest Timber 
Taylor Huston – Stone Seed


12/17 noon
Rich Guebert – IL Farm Bureau President
Ken Franklin – Christian County FB


12/18 am
Dave Opperman – Logan County FB 
Dave Dorn Jr – Christian County FB

Bailey Milton – Piatt County FB


12/18 noon
LIVE @ Macon County Farm Bureau


12/19 am
Katie Wilson – Montgomery County FB
Katie Buckley – Mclean County FB

Terry Ferguson – DeWitt County FB


12/19 noon
Jim William – Agribility Unlimited
Troy Oehler – Grain Flo Inc 


12/20 am
Luke Miller – CapstanAg
Brian Lessen – LG Seeds


12/20 noon
John Olsen – McLean County FB
Allison Reinicke – DeWitt County FB

Matt Heberling – Christian County FB




Illinois Farm Bureau President Rich Guebert Re-Elected at IFB Annual Meeting

Illinois Farm Bureau President Rich Guebert was re-elected at the IFB Annual Meeting in Chicago on Monday afternoon.  Vice-President Brian Duncan was also re-elected.  Both had no opposition.


Here are Guebert's comments in a post-meeting news confernce Monday afternoon:




IFB Director of Government Relations Mark Gebhards Reviews IFB Annual Meeting Issues Voted On

Illinois Farm Bureau Director of Government Relations Mark Gebhards reviewed the resolutions approved by IFB delegates during their Annual Meeting in Chicago, in a post-meeting news conference Monday afternoon.


Here is the entire news conference with Gebhards' comments:




USDA Assistant Ag Secretary Stephen Censky Addresses IFB Annual Meeting Delegates, Media

United States Department of Agriculture Assistant Secretary Stephen Censky addressed the delegates attending the Illinois Farm Bureal Annual Meeting in Chicago this morning.  Censky spoke about a number of current issues including the recently passed trade agreement with Japan, the continuing trade negotiations with China, and the Trump Administration's continuing payments to farmers while the Chinese trade talks continue.


Censky held a brief news conference following his remarks to IFB delegates.


The complete unedited version of the news conference to listen to, is below:




illinoisfarmradio's Local Farm Broadcaster Jared White Covering Illinois Farm Bureau Annual Meeting in Chicago


illinoisfarmradio's local farm broadcaster Jared White (left) is in Chicago covering the Illinois Farm Bureau Annual Meeting, reporting on awards won by county Farm Bureau's in the listening area.



Jared (left) visited with Terry Ferguson (right), an IFB delegate from DeWitt County.


Jared visited with the delegation from Christian County Farm Bureau, during the Annual Meeting.


WHOW Names Antique Tractor Show Winners at Greater Peoria Farm Show

WHOW THE BIG 1520 across Central Illinois, 92-point-3 FM in Clinton and 106.5 FM in Lincoln, again sponsored the Antique Tractor Show Contest at this week's Greater Peoria Farm Show.


Attendees were invited to submit their favorite antique tractors on display, on ballots during the show.


WHOW announced those winners today (FRI) on its Noon Farm Show.  They included the first place winner being an I-H 400 owned by Jerry Tibbs of Topeka, Illinois, who won a 150-dollar gift card from WHOW.


Second place was an Oliver Row Crop 77 owned by George Wehyrich of San Jose, Illinois, who won a 100-dollar gift card from WHOW.


Third place winner was an Allice-Chalmers WC tractor owned by Bob Blue, of Canton, Illinois, who won a 50-dollar gift card from WHOW.


WHOW and the Greater Peoria Farm Show thank all the antique tractor owners that brought their machinery to this year's show.


The Farm Show With Jared White - Schedule 12/9/19 to 12/13/19

On The Show this week....


12/9 am (6:40a & 1:07p on WHOW)
Curt Alexander – Altorfer
Joe Fecht – Stine Seed


12/9 noon (12:20p & 4:35p on WHOW)
LIVE @ IL Farm Bureau Annual Meeting in Chicago


12/10 am
Becky Jo Smith – Valent
Rodney Connor – Indigo


12/10 noon
Travis Deppe – Dir of PCM Program W/ IL Corn Growers


12/11 am
Curt Kimmell – Bates Commodities
Kerry Baer – Beck's Hybrids


12/11 noon
Allen Bailey – HarvestSolar
Doug Nelson – Wyffels Hybrids


12/12 am
Dr. Elwin Taylor – Climatologist w/ Iowa State University


12/12 noon
Brendan Bachman – Growmark
Randy Dickhut – Farmers National Company


12/13 am
Rick Myrop – Climate Corp 
Jim Hedges – Winfield United


12/13 noon
Michael Musselman – Martin-Till
Dan Rokicki – Ferrell Gas






Local Weather - Sponsored By:
Townhall Top of the Hour News


SRN News